Life Education

 

“I came that they may have life, and may have it abundantly.” John 10:10

Positive Accomplishment|Positive Relationships|Positive Emotions|Positive Health|Positive Meaning

 

The College has designed a school-based Life Education course to complement its HKDSE programme.  The Life Education course helps students structure their lives and adopt positive values, with a base in Christian values.

The College's vision is to nurture students who possess both academic knowledge and positive life values, so that they may become "College Ready and Life Ready" as capable young men and women.  We believe in the importance of developing virtue and character in the youth, and the College's Life Education course has been designed to this end.

 

Course aims:

  • Put into practice the College's motto of "College Ready, Life Ready" through providing life education to students.
  • Develop students' virtues and character strength based on Christian values.
  • Establish in students through a variety of themes and activities: Positive Accomplishment, Positive Relationships, Positive Emotions, Positive Health, and Positive Meaning.

 

Course features:

  • Experiential learning elements were introduced to the course in 2019 through the addition of physical musical and artistic elements, taught by professionals according to students' interests.  Students have the opportunity to discover, develop, and showcase their talents through the College's platforms for performance (e.g. Kung Lee's Got Talent), where they also establish a sense of accomplishment.
  • The course emphasises whole-person development, divided into the domains of body, mind, society, and spirit.  In 2020, the 24 character strengths were introduced into the course in order to promote even fuller growth and development.
  • The College's Life Education course has been recognised and supported by many external organisations and churches.  The support from these organisations and churches has allowed the College to increase its care towards each student's spiritual development.  Beginning from 2018, external life coaches have been invited to provide more support to students.
  • The College emphasises constant improvement in learning and teaching, in order to continually raise the standard of support towards students.  Therefore, in 2020, elements of design thinking were introduced to the course, including the promotion of "Design for Change" through project-based learning, so that students could learn how to conceptualise, design and implement a creative action plan.  Through this project, students can learn how to cooperate with others, and improve their knowledge, skills and attitudes through the project learning process.

 

Vision for the Future: Broaden Students' Horizons, from the Campus to the Community

As a member of the local community, the College can cooperate with other stakeholders to build a better community for all.  Therefore, the College hopes to encourage more interaction between students and the community in the future, in order to broaden students' horizons so they may implement their knowledge, skills and attitudes from the campus to the community.  Moreover, the College hopes to increase the partnership between life education and life planning, with an emphasis on introducing career coaching to provide students with personalised life planning and personal growth coaching, and to allow students to better understand their strengths, characteristics, advantages and disadvantages etc.

 

Appendix 1: Virtues and character strengths (Peterson & Seligman, 2004)

 

Appendix 2: Partner organisations and churches

The Church of Christ in China (CCC) Wanchai Church*

New Life City Church*

The Church of Christ in China China Congregational Church*

E.F.C.C. Aldrich Bay Church*

The Church of Christ in China Chai Wan Church*

Little Fire*

The Church of Christ in China Hop Yat Church (North Point)*

Wakeup*

Grace Evangelical Church*

Fan Fire*

Eastern District Praise Assembly*

Design for Change Hong Kong*

Hung Hom Christian Church*

Youth With A Mission (YWAM) Hong Kong

Eng Yu Evangelistic Mission*

The Church of Christ in China Shum Oi Church

*Currently partnered organisations and churches

 

Appendix 3: Main course content

Form

Term 1

Term 2

Term 3

Form 4

  • Character strength: self-regulation
  • Successful habits (personal)
  • Character strength: wisdom
  • Cherishment course
  • Character strength: courage
  • Positive education course

Form 5

  • Character strength: kindness
  • Successful habits (social)
  • Character strength: justice
  • Teamwork
  • Character strength: spirituality
  • Values restructuring

Form 6

  • Benchmarking life
  • Time management
  • Getting to know emotions and stress
  • Life education in films

 

Body, music and arts

  • Body: board games, sports, Switch games
  • Music: musical activities, instrumental groups
  • Arts: art workshops, art therapy, photography, image building, cooking

 

   
  "Good vibes project" group activities  
       
Campus beautification project Tabletop games
   
Body, music and arts activities: "artistic creations" Body, music and arts activities: music sharing Praise week 2020
     
   
  Making food for people in need Food donation activity

生命教育

 

「我來了,是要叫人得生命,並且得的更豐盛。」約10:10下

成功經驗 Positive Accomplishment|健康關係Positive Relationships|正面情緒 Positive Emotions|身心健康 Positive Health|意義人生 Positive Meaning

 

本校的香港中學文憑課程及職業培訓文憑課程均設有生命教育科,以基督教的價值觀為基礎,建立學生的生命並推動正向教育。

 

學校的願景是培育學術及生命品質兼備的學生,以College Ready & Life Ready為理念,建立一代又一代的青年人。我們相信良好的美德和品格,對年青人十分重要。本校的生命教育亦以此為目標。

 

課程

  • 配合學校主題方向,實踐「College Ready Life Ready」之理念。
  • 以基督教的價值觀為基礎,建立學生的美德與品格強項。
  • 透過不同的主題及活動讓學生建立:成功經驗 Positive Accomplishment、健康關係Positive Relationships、正面情緒 Positive Emotions、身心健康 Positive Health及意義人生 Positive Meaning。

 

課程特色:

  • 於2019年加入體驗式學習元素,加入「體音藝」元素,按學生不同的興趣安排專業導師作指導。配合學校不同的表演平台(如Kung Lee's Got Talent),讓學生發掘、發揮及發展個人興趣及強項,從而建立學生的成就感。
  • 本課程以身、心、社、靈為課程之嚮導,重視學生整全的發展,並於2020年開始引入24種品格強項(參附件1),建立更全面的成長和發展。
  • 本校生命教育獲外界不同機構和教會認同及支持,進一步提升對學生的個別牧養及靈命關顧。於2018年開始加入「生命導師」,向同學提供更個人的支援。(參附件2)
  • 本校著重不斷更新,以持續提升對學生的支援。因此,於2020年開始我們引入設計思維的概念,並透過創意思維行動(Design for Change)推動以企劃為本的學習(Project Based Learning),讓學生學習如何感受、想象、設計及䇿劃具創意的行動企劃。一方面能學習如何與人合作,同時從構思、計劃到執行企劃中提升其知識、技能與態度。

 

未來展望:提升學生視野,從校園到社區

學校作為社區的一份子,是可以與其他社區的持份者共同創建社區,獲取雙贏。因此,期望在未來可以再進一步,透過促進學生與社區的互動,提升學生的視野,從校園走到真實的社區,讓學生把學習到的知識、能力與態度實踐在真實的生活中。此外,期望生命教育與生涯規劃整合,其中一個重點為引入Career Coaching,為學生提供更個人化的生涯規劃及個人成長指導,讓學生更暸解自己及別人的強項、特質、優點與缺點等。

 

附件1:美德與品格強項  (Peterson & Seligman, 2004)

附件2:合作機構及教會(排名不分先後)

中華基督教會灣仔堂* 新生命城市教會*
中華基督教會公理堂* 播道會愛序秩灣堂*
中華基督教會柴灣堂* 小火子青年社群*
中華基督教會合一堂北角堂* Wakeup*
主恩福音堂* 柴房(Fan Fire)*
東區敬拜會* 香港創意行動協會*
紅磡基督教會堂* YWAM青年使命團
基督教恩雨堂* 中華基督教會深愛堂

*為繼續有合作事工

 

附件3:課程主要內容

級別

學期一

學期二

學期三

中四

  • 品格強項:節制
  • 成功習慣(個人)
  • 品格強項:智慧
  • 珍愛課程
  • 品格強項:勇氣
  • 正向課程

中五

  • 品格強項:仁愛
  • 成功習慣(群體)
  • 品格強項:公義
  • 團隊合作
  • 品格強項:靈性
  • 價值觀重整

中六

  • 標竿人生
  • 時間管理
  • 認識情緒與壓力
  • 電影中的生命教育

 

體、音、藝

  • 體:Board Game、運動、Switch Game
  • 音:音樂活動、樂器小組
  • 藝:藝術工作坊、藝術治療、攝影、形像、食物製作

 

   
  「好心情計劃」小組活動  
       
校園美化計劃 桌遊活動
   
體音藝活動「藝術創作」 體音藝活動「音樂分享會」 欣賞周 2020
     
   
  製作食物送贈有需要人士 捐贈食物活動